The Music of Eastern Europe

Saturday 2 June 2018
St. Margaret's Church,
Time: 7.30pm
This concert is sold out

The Music of Eastern Europe

Join Exeter Bach Society to celebrate the music of Leoš Janáček and other seminal composers from Eastern Europe. 2018 marks the 90th anniversary of Janáček's death and the society present some of his lesser known choral masterpieces in this exciting programme.

Musical Director: Jonathan Lucas Wood

Piano: David Davies

Violin: Anna Cockroft

Tenor:  Michael Graham

Harp: Sally Jenkins

This concert will include a 20 minute interval with light refreshments provided. This is an event not to be missed with beautiful music, professional soloists and the Exeter Bach Society Choir set in the beautiful village of Topsham overlooking the River Exe.

Programme to include:

Janáček - Otce nás

Janáček - Elegy on the death of my daughter Olga

Janáček - Romance

Janáček - Dumka

Janáček - Postludium (From 'Glagolitic Mass')

Dvořák - Six Moravian Choruses

Eben - Moto Ostinato

Natra - Harp Sonatina

Bartok - Romanian Folk Dances

Kodály - Dances of Kálló

Zarzycki - Mazurka in G Major

Prokofiev - Prelude Op. 12, No. 7 in C Major

Pärt - Spiegel im Spiegel

Pärt - Bogoroditse Djevo

Górecki - Totus Tuus